Uganda National Journalism Awards 2021 open for entries

African Centre for Media Excellence (ACME), in partnership with the Democratic Governance Facility (DGF), is pleased to announce that the Uganda National Journalism Awards 2021 are open for entries.

Launched in 2013, the Uganda National Journalism Awards honour high quality, effective and engaging media coverage of public affairs issues across the country. They have become a national benchmark to recognise excellence in reporting that informs and empowers the public, increases the voices and spaces for debate, and holds the powerful to account.

In the 2020 edition of the awards, ACME received more than 240 entries from just over 120 journalists. The winning entries covered a wide range of crucial issues from politics, policy and power to learning outcomes, healthcare, and local service delivery.

The Uganda National Journalism Awards 2021 will be given to the best reporting in 20 categories, namely:

Agriculture reporting Investigative reporting
Arts reporting Justice, law and order
Business, economy and financial reporting Local reporting
Data journalism National news reporting (Broadcast)
Education reporting National news reporting (Print)
Energy and extractive industries News illustration
Environment reporting Photo and video journalism
Explanatory reporting Political reporting
Features Public works and infrastructure
Health reporting Sports reporting
The judging process

An independent expert panel of 16 members will select winning entries based on accuracy, initiative, originality, clarity of interpretation, storytelling ability, public benefit, audience engagement, innovation, and writing and creative flair.

The prize

Both the winner and first runner-up in each category will receive a substantial cash prize. Plaques and certificates will also be given. A separate prize for exceptional journalism shall also be awarded to a participant in UNJA who exhibits extensive knowledge of his or her reporting beat, provides evidence of growth over the period of assessment, consistently produces quality work, and is highly regarded by others in the profession. Winners will be celebrated at a grand gala to be held in Kampala in April 2021. Additionally, winning entries will be published online and in a booklet to be distributed by ACME.

How to participate

All submissions must have been published or broadcast in a Ugandan media outlet or a regional outlet with a substantial Ugandan audience during the 2020 calendar year. Web-based news organisations that follow a strict code of journalistic ethics and publish original reporting on a regular basis may also submit entries.

To submit an entry for the awards, visit the Eligibility Rules and Submission Guidelines page.

Key dates for the Uganda National Journalism Awards 2021
  • Entries open: 22 December 2020
  • Entries close: 20 February 2021
  • Judging process: February-March 2021
  • Awards ceremony: April 2021

For more information or inquiries, write to awards[at]


  1. Am so glad to be part of here

  2. Nice to be part of you here

  3. Ai jst want 2 acquire skills from here

  4. Knowledge will be gained from you

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *