Deadline fast approaching for Uganda National Journalism Awards 2015

The year is fast coming to an end and so too is time to complete all your great projects and plans for 2014. Have you submitted the manuscript for your first book? Have you broadcast that earth-shaking investigative story series? Have you enrolled for that coveted photography class? Have you submitted an entry to the Uganda National Journalism Awards?

Entries are rolling in for the second edition of the Uganda National Journalism Awards. While the 15 January 2015 deadline for submissions may seem far away, be sure you do not get left behind.

The Uganda National Journalism Awards are a programme of the African Centre for Media Excellence (ACME), organized with support from Dutch international development organization, Hivos. They are a celebration the best reporting, photography, news documentary and innovation in Uganda’s media. Additionally they are an opportunity to showcase the diverse landscape of Ugandan media that is producing high quality, insightful journalism in an age when the role of traditional journalists is being constantly challenged.

The competition is open to all Ugandan journalists and journalists of foreign nationality reporting for a Ugandan media outlet. Since the entry season started in October 2014, more than 40 submissions have been received by the awards secretariat at the ACME offices or sent to

You are invited to carefully read and follow all guidelines on your eligibility for the awards, rules of competition and how you can participate. Take your time to read them as all incomplete or incorrectly submitted entries will be automatically disqualified.

For the Uganda National Journalism Awards 2015 there are 20 beat and skills categories to which journalists can submit entries either as individuals or as a group. They are:

  • Agriculture
  • Arts and culture
  • Business, economy and finance
  • Commentary and opinion
  • Data journalism
  • Editorial cartooning
  • Energy, oil, gas and mineral resources
  • Environment
  • Explanatory reporting
  • Feature writing
  • Health reporting
  • Investigative reporting
  • Justice, law and order
  • Multimedia journalism
  • National news reporting (separate awards for print and broadcast entries)
  • Photojournalism
  • Politics
  • Local reporting
  • Sports

Judging of the awards will take place in February and March next year. A panel of esteemed journalism academics, former senior reporters and retired media managers has been instituted to carefully assess the merits of each entry.

This process will climax in April next year at a grand awards gala to announce winners of the Uganda National Journalism Awards 2015. Each winner and runner up with receive a substantial cash prize and commemorative plaque.

Who knows? Your name may be at the top of that prestigious list of award-worthy journalists!

So submit your entry now at Visit our awards page for more information on the competition rules and guidance on how to participate.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *