Uganda National Journalism Awards 2024 – FAQs

Welcome to the FAQ page for the Uganda National Journalism Awards 2024. Whether you’re a seasoned journalist or just starting out, this competition offers a chance to be recognised for your impactful work. Here, you’ll find answers to all your burning questions, from deadlines and eligibility to submission formats and award categories.

We encourage you to explore this page thoroughly and don’t hesitate to reach out at awards[at] if you have any further inquiries. 

The deadline to submit entries for the Uganda National Journalism Awards 2024 is April 30, 2024.

The competition is open to all journalists (freelance or full-time), independent content producers working in Uganda, and anyone producing journalistic content on any platform (online or offline).

Absolutely! The Uganda National Journalism Awards are open to all journalists working in Uganda, regardless of location. The awards committee is committed to recognising impactful journalism from across the country, and they encourage journalists from all regions to submit their work.

The work must have been published or broadcast between January 1 and December 31, 2023 (for subject-based entries). The work must have been published or broadcast in a Ugandan media outlet or a regional outlet widely accessible in Uganda.

This year’s Uganda National Journalism Awards mark a new chapter with several noteworthy changes designed to celebrate sustained excellence and recognize the diversity of Ugandan journalism:

  • Shifting focus: The awards now recognize journalists based on their overall body of work (3-5 pieces) within a chosen category, rather than just a single entry. This allows them to showcase their thematic expertise and consistent quality.

  • New award categories: Expanding the competition’s scope, this year introduces awards for Religion Reporting and Traditions & Culture Reporting, acknowledging the significance of these themes in Uganda’s narrative. Additionally, the Sports Reporting Award makes a welcome return.

  • Revamped recognition for institutions: Media organisations of all sizes and locations can now compete for the prestigious Stanbic Shield of Journalism Award. There’s also a renewed focus on institutional innovation with the Newsroom and Editorial Transformation Award and the Digital Innovation Award.

The number of entries you can submit depends on the award category:

  • Subject-based awards: Each entrant can submit one body of work per category, and can only submit entries to one category. 
  • Institutional awards: Media organisations can submit entries for any or all of the three institutional awards: Stanbic Shield of Journalism Award, Newsroom and Editorial Transformation Award, and Digital Innovation Award. 


  • Subject-based entries are judged on the overall strength of your body of work.
  • Institutional awards focus on strategic initiatives, so clearly demonstrate your organisation’s achievements in each category you enter.

A “body of work” refers to a collection of journalistic pieces, consisting of a minimum of 3 and up to 5 entries, showcasing a journalist’s thematic expertise and consistent quality within their chosen area of focus.

Can the pieces in a submitted body of work be unrelated to each other?

Yes, within a single category, the pieces can be either related, showcasing in-depth coverage of a single topic, or unrelated, demonstrating reporting versatility and consistency across various topics within the same category.

Yes, but if not in English, an English translation or transcript must be provided.

No, there are no restrictions on formats within subject categories. All formats, including text, audio, video, photo, cartoons, data visualisations, illustrations or multimedia, are welcome for submission in any subject category.

Whether it is a written article, a podcast, a video documentary or any other journalistic format, as long as it meets the criteria for the category, it is eligible for entry.

Any journalistic style is accepted, including features, investigations, news stories, explainers, analysis, documentaries, reviews, etc.

For the Newsroom and Editorial Transformation Award and the Digital Innovation Award, institutions should submit entries that showcase their strategic initiatives in these areas. This could include:

Newsroom Transformation:

  • Implementing new editorial workflows or systems.
  • Investing in journalist training and development programs.
  • Establishing a culture of innovation and experimentation within the newsroom.

Digital Innovation:

  • Launching new digital platforms or initiatives.
  • Utilising innovative storytelling techniques.
  • Examples of sustained audience engagement through digital channels.

Entries must be submitted online using the designated form for either institutional awards or subject-based categories.