Uganda National Journalism Awards 2024 open for entries

The African Centre for Media Excellence (ACME) is pleased to announce that submissions are now open for the 2024 annual Uganda National Journalism Awards (UNJA). This landmark event marks a decade of recognising and celebrating outstanding journalistic contributions within the Ugandan media landscape. Journalists and media organisations and platforms across the nation are invited to submit their entries and participate in this historic 10th anniversary edition of the awards.

Elevating excellence: A decade of recognition

“For ten years, the Uganda National Journalism Awards have served as a beacon, highlighting exceptional journalistic work and its profound impact on society,” said Dr. George Lugalambi, Executive Director of ACME. “As the media landscape undergoes rapid evolution, the Awards themselves adapt and embrace new storytelling formats to capture the best across all platforms. This 10th anniversary signifies a pivotal moment to celebrate past achievements while envisioning the future.”

A growing network of partners interested in quality journalism and media 

ACME welcomes the continuation of existing collaborations and is seeking new ones with media industry, corporate, public sector, civil society and international partners and sponsors who value journalism and the media’s contribution to Uganda’s all-round development.

Key dates

  • Submission deadline: 30 April 2024
  • Adjudication of entries: May/June 2024
  • Awards gala: 31 July 2024


This year’s edition introduces a new chapter with several noteworthy changes:

  • Improved user experience: The submission process has been streamlined to make it easier for media organisations and platforms across the country to showcase their work.
  • Shifting focus to sustained excellence: This year, the Awards will recognise journalists based on their overall body of work and its impact, rather than solely focusing on single entries. Journalists will submit at least three (3) and up to five (5) pieces per category, showcasing their thematic expertise and consistent quality within their chosen area of focus.
  • New awards categories: Expanding the award categories to include Religion Reporting, and Traditions and Culture Reporting recognises the significance of these themes in Uganda’s narrative. The Sports Reporting Award also makes a return. Additionally, the award for Urbanisation and Land Reporting has been renamed Urbanisation and Human Settlements to reflect a broader focus on the social and developmental aspects of urban growth.
  • Revamped institutional awards: Media organisations and platforms of all sizes and locations are now eligible to compete for the Stanbic Shield of Journalism Award as well as the Newsroom and Editorial Transformation Award, and the Digital Innovation Award.


  1. Gain well-deserved national recognition for your dedication to impactful journalism. Cement your place in Ugandan media history by joining the ranks of esteemed award winners.
  2. Play a pivotal role in shaping the future of Ugandan media by contributing to high-quality journalism that empowers and informs the nation.
  3. Benchmark your work against industry standards. Participating in the competition allows you to assess your work against the highest standards in Ugandan journalism. The judging process, conducted by seasoned and respected media professionals, provides valuable feedback that can help you refine your skills and strengthen your craft.
  4. The competition can reignite your passion for storytelling and push you to explore new avenues within your expertise. Share your best work with a wider audience.
  5. Participating in the awards can create a sense of pride and accomplishment within your team. Recognition for their hard work can boost morale and motivate staff to continue producing impactful journalism.


If you have any questions, write to awards[at], with the subject ‘UNJA 2024 inquires’.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *