Vision’s Caroline Ariba wins David Astor award

New Vision’s Caroline Ariba has won the coveted David Astor award for 2016, bringing to five the number of recognitions she has received as a journalist.

As part of the prize, Ariba will receive $500 and take part in a three-month work experience program either in the UK or South Africa.  Kenyan journalist Frankline Sunday of The Standard also received the award.

In an email to ACME on 8 January 2016, Ariba said she is excited because this award will offer her training and a chance to work with journalists outside Uganda.

She said: “I am particularly eager to learn how some of these journalists have done feature stories in the most dangerous of places. What are their tricks?”

The award program aims to “expose winners to different news reporting environments and some of the special know-how, expertise and working practices of other, more seasoned journalists”, according to information  by The David Astor Journalism Awards Trust.

It also offers “opportunities for the award winners to enhance their capabilities in ways that would not ordinarily be available to them, to broaden their professional outlook, and to develop useful new contacts”.

Ariba has previously received two ACME Awards  (2014 and 2015), the Tumaini  awards for child rights reporting (2014) and the Thomson Foundation Young Journalist Award (2015).

Ariba’s achievement brings to 10 the number of Ugandan journalists who have received the David Astor award since 2008. The others are; Tabu Butagira, Barbara Among, Raymond Baguma, Daniel Edyegu, Yasiin Mugerwa, Patience Akumu, Sulaiman Kakaire, Solomon Arinaitwe and Gloria Nakajubi


About the award

The award was launched in April 2007 and named in honour of late British newspaper editor and philanthropist David Astor to reflect his journalistic principles, interest in promoting new talent, and his lifelong commitment to social justice causes. It is run by The David Astor Journalism Awards Trust and currently focuses on Uganda, Kenya and Tanzania.

The selection process

According to information from the David Astor Journalism Awards Trust website, the selection process involves nominations of a candidate by a media house, written applications by nominees, interviews, and final judging. Independent three-member selection panels are then appointed to choose the winners.

Harriet Anena

Harriet Anena is ACME’s Special Projects Officer

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *