Your questions, our answers – Uganda National Journalism Awards 2015

Do you have a question about the Uganda National Journalism Awards 2015? Our list of frequently asked questions is here to give you all the information you need about your participation in the competition. If you have a query that is not addressed here, please send an email to, subject: ‘UNJA 2015 Query’


What are the Uganda National Journalism Awards?

The awards were created in 2013 by the African Centre for Media Excellence to recognize and celebrate exceptional reporting which informs and empowers the public, increases the voices and spaces of critical information and hold the powerful to account.


Who is eligible for the contest?

All journalists, freelance or full-time, who have published or broadcast stories for media houses in Uganda. The awards are also open to stories published or broadcast in regional media houses with wide distribution in Uganda. All competing stories must be about a Ugandan topic, personality or event.


Must I be a Ugandan citizen to submit an award?

No. The awards are open to all journalists who have published or broadcast stories for Ugandan media houses or regional media with wide distribution in Uganda.


What work is eligible?

All work published or broadcast between 1 January and 31 December 2014.


When is the deadline for participation in the competition?

15 January 2015 at 5:00 p.m.


Do I have to pay to participate in the awards?

No. Please report anyone asking for payment for the delivery entries or of judging of the Uganda National Journalism Awards to the African Centre for Media Excellence.


What are the categories?

Please visit our categories page for more information.


How many stories can be submitted for competition?

Each contestant may only submit ONE article or broadcast per category. A maximum of THREE submissions, in three separate categories is allowed.


May I submit a newsletter or blog for competition?

No. At this time newsletters and blog posts are ineligible for competition.


I do not work for the organisation anymore but wrote my articles while I was still under them. Can I still submit those articles? 
Yes, you can, as long as the articles were published or broadcast within the time frame stipulated.


Do my submissions have to be in English?
Your article can be in any language, but if they are not in English, the submission must be accompanied by English translations of your work.


My article was primarily done by me but other journalists have contributed, can I still submit it as an individual article?
Such scenarios will be assessed on a case-by-case basis. Please let us know if you are a facing a scenario like this, and we will make a decision based on the exact breakdown of work contributed by each journalist.


How can I enter?

Please visit and read our ‘How to Enter’ page.


What information about me or my submission will be required?

  • The date(s) and name of the media house the work was published or broadcast.
  • The title of the story or series and the name(s) of those involved.
  • A brief synopsis of the story or stories, including any significance findings.
  • Results of your story, if any.


What file types may be sent?

  • All print materials must be submitted in PDF format. This includes any cover letter, broadcast transcripts or translations.
  • Radio entries should be submitted in .MP3 format or .WAV format.
  • Television entries should be submitted in .AVI, .WMA, .MP4, .WMV or .FLV formats.
  • Online entries must include working live or cached web addresses.


How should television and radio entries be submitted?

  • Entries must be submitted in the exact format in which they were broadcast. They can only be edited to remove advertisements, station call signs of public service announcements.
  • All large files, which cannot be sent by ordinary mail should be sent via Google Drive. For information on how to use Google Drive, please click here.
  • Journalists may also use services like SendSpace to submit documents. If you use a third party site such as this, you must send an email to the UNJA secretariat ahead of time warning them of its delivery.
  • If your submission is too large to be sent electronically or if you are not sure how to use the platforms provided, please physically deliver your full television and radio entries on DVD or CD to the African Centre for Media Excellence offices (see our ‘Contact us’ page for details).


How will entries be judged?

A grand panel of independent judges has been instituted to carefully assess each entry. The full list of judges will be available on the ACME website at the commencement of the judging period on 16 January 2015. Judges’ comments on winning entries will be read at the awards ceremony and posted on the ACME website.


What do I get if I win?

The winners and runners-up of each category will receive a substantial cash prize and a commemorative plaque. Their work will also be published in a multimedia compendium in mid-2015.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *