CNN announces 2011 awards for African Journalists

*The closing date for entries is 27 January 2011.


CNN International and MultiChoice have officially launched the CNN MultiChoice African Journalist 2011 Awards.

The competition is open to African nationals who are professional journalists including freelancers across print, television, internet, photographic and radio.

The 2010 awards ceremony which was held in Kampala in May saw two Ugandans, Leon Ssenyange of NTV-Uganda taking the Sport category award and Halima Abdallah Kisule of the East African newspaper walking away with the Environment category award.

While launching the awards, Tony Maddox, Executive Vice President and Managing Director of CNN International, said: “The CNN MultiChoice African Journalist Awards have been encouraging excellence in journalism across the continent for 16 years and are truly a highlight in CNN’s editorial calendar. I’m delighted that they continue to grow in stature and prestige, and it’s a humbling experience each year to see and experience such dedication, passion and talent. 2011 promises to be another year of stellar African journalism.”

Collins Khumalo, President MultiChoice Africa, said: “MultiChoice Africa is delighted to once again participate in Africa’s largest and most coveted journalism awards. Each year we are proud of the talent showcased at the awards and excited about the great progress made in African journalists telling the African story. We believe as an African company that our participation makes a significant contribution towards the development of media in Africa.”

Sam Rogers, from South Africa, was awarded the top prize at the CNN MultiChoice African Journalist 2010 Awards ceremony. Sam, won for ‘The Curse of the Nobody People’, which was chosen from among 2074 entries from 44 nations across the African continent.

Sam said: “Winning the CNN MultiChoice African Journalist of the Year was possibly the highlight of my career. What an honour to be chosen a winner among so many brilliant African journalists, to be listed alongside the very best who have won this prestigious accolade over the years. What a wonderful platform the CNN MultiChoice award is. It has allowed us to broadcast to a wider audience, to highlight the plight of persecuted Tanzanian albinos and has begun changing perceptions in that region. Their voices were finally heard. ”

This year, the competition will recognise excellence in the following categories:

* Arts & Culture Award
* Digital Journalism Award
* Economics & Business Award
* Environment Award
* Free Press Africa Award
* The HIV/AIDS Reporting Award
* Mohamed Amin Photographic Award
* MSD Health & Medical Award
* Print General News Award
* Radio General News Award
* Sport Award
* Television Features Award
* Television News Bulletin Award
* Tourism Award
* Francophone General News Awards
* Portuguese Language General News Award

From these category winners, the judges choose the overall winner – The CNN MultiChoice African Journalist 2011 who will be announced at a gala ceremony to be held in Johannesburg, South Africa in June 2011..

Finalists in the 2011 competition will participate in a four day finalists’ programme that will include a media forum and networking opportunities with senior journalists, editors, business leaders and media owners from across the continent, culminating in a gala awards ceremony in June, 2011. All finalists receive a cash prize and each category winner also receives a laptop and printer. The CNN MultiChoice African Journalist 2011 will receive an additional cash prize and a trip to CNN Center in Atlanta.

The independent judging panel includes: Ikechukwu Amaechi, Editor, Daily Independent, Nigeria; Jean-Paul Gérouard, Deputy Editor-in-Chief, France 3 TV; Ferial Haffajee, Editor-in-Chief, City Press, South Africa; Joel Kibazo, journalist and media consultant; Arlindo Lopes, Secretary General, Southern African Broadcasting Association; José Luís Mendonça, Press Counsellor, Angolan Permanent Delegation to UNESCO; Zipporah Musau, Managing Editor, Magazines, The Standard Group Ltd, Kenya; Kim Norgaard, CNN Bureau Chief, South Africa.

Full details on how to enter can be found by logging on at The closing date for entries is 27 January 2011. There will NOT be any extensions of this closing date, and entries received after this date may be disqualified. The judging will take place in April, 2011. All entries should be broadcast or published during January 2010 – December 2010.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *